Heat Index 95 Degrees

I’m sick of this heat! I only have one request when we are this hot, I want thunderstorms and rain. If I have to suffer in this miserable weather that feels like the amazon jungle then I want some damn rain as a reward. Am I asking too much? Apparently mother nature thinks so because we have not had an inch of rain in who knows how long. The 10 minute down poor last week doesn’t count. It has rained all around us. It has rain over the lake, to the west, to the south and to the east but not here.

Okay enough complaining about matters one can not control and on to the Tomatoes….This is a phone call last week between the husband and me. So everyone knows I call home ever day at lunch to touch base. The husband and I have done this for years because we have opposite schedules.

The Husband: We have a tomato emergency!

Me: A What?

The Husband: TOMATO EMERGENCY!

Me: What are you talking about?

The Husband: The tomatoes have exploded since yesterday.

Me: How many?

The Husband: I already picked picked 3 pints of the yellow jelly’s, and I picked 2 big bowls plus one big plate of the reds.

Me: Wow, and to think that these were the plants that L’s dad was embarrassed about. He’d be so proud of the them.

These are all heirloom, organic tomatoes. I would say by next weekend we will be canning. We have given so many away already to friends, family, strangers since the tomato explosion.

Does anyone have a good Tomato Bisque recipe?

0 Responses to “Heat Index 95 Degrees”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Comments

Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Relaxed
Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Progress…..may….be…
Karen Anne on Progress…..may….be…

Flickr Photos

Deck Rain Barrels

Garage Rain Barrels

Tomato Bed

More Photos

