The Nightly Floor Show

I thought I should show everyone how far I have gotten on the floor. It is going way tooooo slow by my standards but others are surprised that I have gotten this far. I have only been working on it for a couple hours a night, actually about 3 hours a night since Tuesday.

We started with this:

And I have gotten this far:

Can I tell you how much I hate Tar Paper – it’s the devil.

Some things I learned along the way:

-Vinegar, hot water, and a couple of drops of Dawn in a spray bottle breaks the nasty glue stuff down. I would not kid you, whatever type of glue they used – this cocktail seems to dissolve it.

-I figured out last night that if I score the heavy tar paper with the 5-in-1 that the cocktail is able to get in and help dissolve the glue which helps to lift the tar paper.

-The Iron is my best friend.

– I have yet to find anything to clean the glue off my hands.

5 Responses to “The Nightly Floor Show”


  1. 1 Karen Anne December 5, 2009 at 11:27 AM

    Gloves?

  2. 2 Michele December 5, 2009 at 3:46 PM

    One size does NOT fit all.

  3. 3 Nicole December 5, 2009 at 7:50 PM

    Paint thinner is plastic jug from Wal-Mart will remove any kind of goop (including glue, paint and caulk) from any surface including skin. It’s hard on skin though so scrub immediately after and use LOTS of lotion!

    Lookin’ good!

  4. 4 Gary Wayne December 11, 2009 at 10:00 PM

    I think you’re doing a great job and making lots of progress! It will all be worth it once it’s finished, and will be a lot cheaper, too. I wish I had been able to save my old floors.

    Keep going!

  5. 5 Larry S. December 28, 2009 at 8:22 PM

    Looks GREAT!!

    I’ll have to try the vinegar in my solution.

    The Holidays got in the way so I haven’t touched the floor at all.


Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Comments

Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Relaxed
Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Progress…..may….be…
Karen Anne on Progress…..may….be…

Flickr Photos


