It’s Here & Done!

This post has taken me over a week to write, things here have been all woodwork – Baseboards, Door Jams, Plinth Blocks, Corner Blocks, and Door Trim.

The husband placed and order on Tuesday morning November 3rd for the new baseboards and plinth blocks. We were planning on it being done in 2 weeks.

Well…..it will be at our door in about hour, Thursday night November 5th.

Do you believe it? We don’t!

Elegant Wood Products out of Grafton, Ohio totally rocks. These folks get it done.

Along with all the new molding we will also be receiving one drywall sander and its companion: the shop vac.

This is were I left off last week because we have been staining fools over here. An interesting side note: Always make sure they make the staining product that you’re using just in case you run out.

Saturday November 7th, I was on a mission to find an oil based pickling stain. Well they don’t make the shit anymore. Something about EPA laws and things of that nature, but hey we have this water based stuff. I have the water-based shit and it is not the same product which is why I am looking for oil base. Yes, I am peeved. The husband and I have to be at a party in 2 hours and now we have this issue of no product to complete the project.

Sunday morning I am up at 7:00 a.m. – don’t ask me why because I don’t know – I recalled seeing a recipe for pickling. Well the oil base paint mix with mineral spirits/tung oil/paint thinner, take your pick, I was on a mission. Off to one of those big chain stores I go to only find out that they no longer carry oil base products. Yes, there was major cussing going on. I have now wasted 2 hours of warm weather. Pissed, so pissed.

Now I had to wait until 10:00 a.m. to call the paint supply people to see if they have it. I called my cabinet maker guy to confirm the recipe for pickling. The cabinets are coming along great by the way. I cannot wait to see them in a couple weeks. So I mixed up my own stuff and ran a test piece at different ratios to see what we liked the best. I used a 1:1 ratio of tung oil to white oil base paint. Did I tell you that they only sell it in quarts now? Well I will never be with out oil base paint again. I purchased 4 of them bad boys.

The husband and I took advantage of the good weather and went to town. We were like a well oiled machine and cranked out the virgin wood and then went and re-pickled the other woodwork.

Last night at 12:06 a.m. we finished final sanding and sealing of the woodwork. I am so happy to be done with it.

Let’s face it staining, pickling is just not a fun topic unless you run out of product in the middle of the project. That is when things get very interesting. Notice the word “interesting” and not “exciting”?

So now in our basement sits piles of woodwork awaiting for “B” to put his magic touches to and get them up. I asked “B” Friday night if I could use his saws-all to take the old jams out and get a head start on it. B’s reply “no”, followed by “we are not going to make any more of a mess than we need to”. Bummer! I am hoping before Thanksgiving, lets keep our fingers crossed.

Next project the kitchen walls & and “The Floor” – Someone just shoot me now!

1 Response to “It’s Here & Done!”



  1. 1 Busy… « Rust Belt Rebel Trackback on March 17, 2010 at 12:49 PM

Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Recent Comments

Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Relaxed
Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Progress…..may….be…
Karen Anne on Progress…..may….be…

Flickr Photos

Deck Rain Barrels

Garage Rain Barrels

Tomato Bed

More Photos

