Day Two – All accounted for – We Think

Those who have sent the animal spirits to watch over the remaining feral cats, we made it through the night. We think all are accounted for – except the neighbors other male cat. I will have to keep an eye out for him.

We definitely know that this little guy has been his victim

and this little girl.

The sick ____ still has the trap out, I am secretly hopping that a skunk gets trapped. Then what will the ass do?

What I find sad is that his kid is seeing him behave this way and probably thinks that is normal.

I am still taking Valerian root because I need to stay calm, and when it wears off I feel the anxiety creeping back in.

I think what I have found so frustrating is that I’m am so tired of trying to do the right thing, and there is some sort of mountain that is in the way. I am so tired of ignorant people. I am questioning myself over and over why even bother with anything. Then I’m quickly reminded that at least where the four legged creatures come in to play who will give a shit, who will be their voice. Like I said humans are the ones who caused this and they pay the price.

I don’t know when this is going to end but I hope very soon, I am so mentally exhausted.

11 Responses to “Day Two – All accounted for – We Think”


  1. 1 Victoria September 10, 2009 at 6:41 AM

    Awe, thats really sweet what your doing, and while it may feel like a small- and very tiresome job in the entire scheme of things, just know that every little bit helps. 🙂

  2. 2 Karen Anne September 10, 2009 at 7:46 AM

    I am so sorry about those beautiful cats.

    I know what you mean about being discouraged. I try to remember that parable about a man walking along a beach where there were many stranded starfish, and he was throwing them back into the water. His companion said. You can’t possibly rescue anything like all of them, what does it matter? And he said, It matters to this one.

  3. 3 the husband September 10, 2009 at 7:58 AM

    Day three dawned with another capture. We live close enough to the sicko to see generally what’s going on (about 100 yards)- but not close enough to see specifically which feral is in his trap.

    So we note the apparent size and coloring of the captured feral and then begin taking inventory of the colony. As I was feeding and watering this morning, there were four cats missing that were present and accounted for yesterday. Although it is not unusual for the ferals to come and go – I’m beginning to wonder if he isn’t doing multiple captures, kills or relocation during the overnight hours. Working the graveyard shift, so to speak.

    What is really sad is that this morning’s missing members (as were the previous captures) were all spayed or neutered and were great animals, most of which were born in our vicinity and we have been familiar with them since early in their kittenhood.

    We were given the opportunity to observe them interacting, playing and caring for each other. We’ve seen male ferals surrogate parent youngsters, as well as “aunts” help with the kitten-rearing – much like lion prides. It has truly been an eye opening, fascinating adventure over the last several years. Worth all of the time, energy and money we have invested in this adventure.

    It’s like we drew up and formed a contract (along with a physical/mental-emotional and spiritual bond) with these ferals – you let us spay/neuter you, and we will feed and provide for you for the remainder of your natural life. A good deal for all concerned, with the operative phrase being “natural life”. What is happening now is as un-natural as it can get.

    And now, we must stand and watch them get picked off one at a time without being able to do a damn thing to help them. I feel guilty as hell that I have broken my contract with them and can no longer keep them safe. It is a very helpless feeling.

  4. 4 the husband September 10, 2009 at 11:05 AM

    I continue on, not only to vent my frustration and fear, but also to document these events, should the info be needed for some reason in the future.

    I am believing that the feral in the trap is “Rusty” – an 18 month old spayed female, named for her auburn glow in the sunshine – much like rust on black lacquered metal.

    Rusty was always a curious cat (unfortunately). Of late, she – more so than the other ferals – took an intense interest in what Michele and I were doing with the swale and the rain gardens. She would plant herself and watch from a respectful distance as the work progressed. If I moved to another area of the front yard she would move also – as if to say “Whatcha doin’?”

    Right now, she remains in the trap, currently in the direct noon sun, with no shade or cover. I can see her struggle to free herself from the trap and hear her calling out in distress. I am seriously contemplating one of two options:
    Risking the physical and/or legal ramifications of trespassing and freeing her, or knocking on his door and offering him money in exchange for her freedom.

    Crazy? Perhaps…but it’s Rusty. She’ll never get the chance to see the finished swale and rain gardens, if something isn’t done, and soon.

  5. 5 Nicole September 10, 2009 at 1:02 PM

    I am so feeling your pain. I guess it would be too much to hope that he is taking them to a shelter. I know that even this in your case is not a great solution as you’ve had many of them fixed so your investment is both financial AND emotional.

    (Friends of mine did live-trapping several years ago. The cat overpopulation meant they couldn’t even enjoy their backyard and constantly had to keep their son out of there. At least they didn’t do what another neighbor had done: taken up target practice with the ones wandering in or near his yard.)

    Appealing to St. Francis on your behalf.

  6. 6 Karen Anne September 10, 2009 at 4:51 PM

    Can the local animal authorities do nothing? Perhaps they would have some advice?

  7. 7 Kate September 10, 2009 at 7:50 PM

    Unfortunately, as long as they are ferals, the locals are not likely to try to stop him. If he were catching collared pets, they might do more… don’t suppose you can convince the poor babies to wear collars, though.

    Good luck. The ignorant creep, of course, will not understand that if he continues to weed out the neutered cats, they will most likely be replaced by un-altered cats… who will have litters, to annoy him that much more.

  8. 8 Michele September 10, 2009 at 9:11 PM

    Kate is correct, I went to the police station and the nice police officer told me that cats are considered “Free Roaming Animals” – there is noting we can do.

    My heart sank then broke. We broke our promise to them to keep them safe. I knew this day would come, for it was a matter of time.

    It is time to bring this damn, dying city into the year 2009 almost 2010 and for them to get with the program. I am sick and tired that every thing here is a flipping crisis and not prevention. They could have made a change over 10 years ago and they made the choice not to, how different things could have been. Now is the time.

  9. 9 Michele September 10, 2009 at 10:23 PM

    Nicole,

    I am devastated, I’m heart broken, and I feel a horrible rage brewing within in me.

    I feel for your friends, the feeling of being helpless because we try to do what is “Right” and within the “law”, has to be the most horrible feeling. I know the cats feel because we have witnessed them showing affection towards one another. I know they don’t understand the reason why we cannot go and rescue their colony members. They look at us and we feel guilt, for not holding up our end of this contract.

    I am sickened that people can do whatever they want even if harmful to the well being of a “free roaming animal” and there are no consequences for their actions.

    I am pissed that I am taking Valerian root 4 times a day to control my anxiety.

    I am pissed that my husband day starts with a head count and is now ending up in sadness because someone is missing.

    I know that this will be a fight to make change, because every thing in this damn city is a damn fight when is shouldn’t be.

    If the sick ____ is killing the feral’s I want to bust him, I want him to pay. I don’t want the feral’s to die in vein. They are still living creatures and they don’t deserve this, no creature does.

  10. 10 jedder September 11, 2009 at 8:45 AM

    Need to get a group of us together and march to this guys property. Call the media outlets too. Let them know we’re coming.
    There is strength in numbers.

  11. 11 jedder September 11, 2009 at 8:47 AM

    http://www.alleycat.org/NetCommunity/Page.aspx?pid=298

    resource from alleycats

    good stuff here to arm yourself with and present to neighbor(s)


Leave a Reply

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Recent Comments

Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Relaxed
Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Progress…..may….be…
Karen Anne on Progress…..may….be…

Flickr Photos

Deck Rain Barrels

Garage Rain Barrels

Tomato Bed

More Photos

