It’s a Heat Wave!

Why was this the weekend that mother nature decided 90 degree temps was a good idea?

Doesn’t mother nature know that we are in the middle of this project?

I guess not since it is 89 degrees with a 97 degree heat index.

As you all know I don’t do this weather well, I can’t stand it and makes me very irritable. However, there is stone to move and get in place so in spite of this heat we moved ahead till about 12:00 this afternoon when I said “enough”. The husband and I ate some lunch, the husband went at it till 1:45 and he was done for the day.

While the weather was cool over this past week every night after work I would move dirt, worked on my neighbors back side of his house – regrading – and put the plants he dug up in their proper place. Moving dirt is not very exciting or worthy of photo’s.

The husband and I took Saturday off for we had some guest to entertain. A steak dinner was in order for the occasion. I needed to satisfy my carnivorous appetite yet keep dinner light. So T-Bone steaks were on the menu with tomato, mozzarella, basil side dish followed by grilled peaches & vanilla ice cream for dessert. I almost forgot the most important part – wine.

Sorry there are no photo’s, between preparing and then the best part eating, there was no time for the food to strike a pose.

During dinner I actually tried a new wine that our friends brought. I found this wine to pair up very nice with red meat. It is “Ancient Vine” Zinfandel. This is a heavier wine, thick, but full of flavor. It is very different than “Old Vine” which I do not care for due to the chewiness, peppery, thin, kinda bitter taste it has. “Old Vine” is what the husband likes and of course I prefer the “Ancient Vine”, go figure.

Some photo’s of progress from today:

Rain Garden No. 1:

Run off area between the two areas:


This where I had stopped working.

Outer Edge of Rain Garden No. 2:

Note: I do not know why these photo’s look like something the Mars Rover took, except It is bloody hot!

2 Responses to “It’s a Heat Wave!”


  1. 1 Nicole August 9, 2009 at 4:25 PM

    My sympathies! I feel for you having to deal with the heat. I had a taste of this myself last year while working on the walkway.

    You’ll get there. I can see a difference and I am jealous that you won’t have grass once you’re done! 🙂

  2. 2 Michele August 9, 2009 at 9:10 PM

    Nicole,

    I’m telling you when we moved the patio it was the same way. Every time we start a large project Ms. Mother Nature throws us 90 degree weather every time.

    You’re right it will get done, and having no grass …

    Priceless!


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Comments

Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Relaxed
Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Progress…..may….be…
Karen Anne on Progress…..may….be…

Flickr Photos

Deck Rain Barrels

Garage Rain Barrels

Tomato Bed

More Photos

