Update on the Swale, the Rain Gardens and the Weekend

It has been crazy busy here.

The husband tilled the front yard and the swale then the rototiller broke. First the bolt of the leg snapped then the cable let go. Lucky he had already put in 6 hours of tilling prior to the tiller taking a dump. I wasn’t that upset about it because we were headed to our favorite Czech place for dinner when I got home from work any way.

Dinner was great some beef medallions in the very light, creamy, lemon, dill sauce with spatzles on the side. This was the 1st time the husband and I ordered the same meal. The husband got to try the Czech beers he requested and was not disappointed. I even tried a sip and it does not taste like American beer at all nor does it smell like it. I would say that Bakalar’ beer is a must try for those who are into foreign beverages. Needless to say it was a very late night but loads of fun especially when you are in such great company.

Since someone had a little bit too much fun the night before and we wont say who that was, when I got off of work Saturday afternoon we headed for some lunch and shopping. Since it is the beginning of the month I was wiped out and had my self a little siesta when we finished our running around. I love Saturday afternoon naps. It was a very laid back kinda night and at 10:30 p.m. we were both down for the count. Don’t say it, I know 10:30 but hey I am not as young as I once was and I no longer have to stay up because I can.

With both of us getting some much needed rest we were up and at it by 7:00 a.m., crazy I know on a Sunday no less, but there was lost time to make up and much work ahead of us. Back for more tilling with a different tiller and wow, we actually took that crap for soil and actually made it usable. I have to be honest I wasn’t sure if we were going to be able to pull this off.

With the dirt tilled we finally got to start shaping the rain gardens and roughing in the raised beds. Okay that is what I was doing for about 4 hours today. That was not before the side swale was taken care of. With the threat of rain almost every day this week that was our biggest concern. My days have turned into almost 14 hours of non-stop work. Work the day job then get home to work on the side yard and front yard.

So from this:

To this rain garden 1 & 2:

Reshaping the swale:

Now I need a shower.

2 Responses to “Update on the Swale, the Rain Gardens and the Weekend”


  1. 1 Karen Anne August 5, 2009 at 8:49 AM

    It looks like it’s really shaping up, though. Lots of progress. Few things better than nice dirt!

  2. 2 Michele August 5, 2009 at 8:29 PM

    At this point I am jumping up and down, the look of dark soil and shape, I can shape this. To actually get a shovel in this I am just amazed. 3 weekends ago you would hurt yourself trying to take a shovel to that nasty pure clay, today I replanted my neighbors plants. Ahhhhh the simple things in life.


Leave a Reply

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Comments

Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Relaxed
Karen Anne on Relaxed
Michele on Progress…..may….be…
Karen Anne on Progress…..may….be…

Flickr Photos


